Expository Writing

“Psst, did you hear?” Rumors are spread everyday behind peoples back. They don’t always cause physical pain but rumors can still be very harmful.
​One reason rumors can be harmful is the fact that they can easily be blown out of proportion, including even to the point of homicide. A shocking but true example are the Salem Witch Trials in 1692. Women were being unfairly killed because false rumors had been spread about them being ‘witches’. I cannot believe how dramatically rumors can affect someone’s life. The trials show rumors can be insanely over exaggerated.
​In addition, rumors might not always be true. For instance, I had heard a friend attending another school had been expelled. Though, when I consulted him, he had only been suspended. I had believed this rumor and was rather worried for him. Therefore, I know not everything I hear is completely true.
​As a whole, rumors can be harmful for multiple different reasons. Sometimes it pays to not be influenced. Just because you hear it, doesn’t make it true.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *